The Railway Pub & Restaurant is a historical part of Witham & has been since circa 1842. The above photographs are the earliest of the pub available & date between 1911 & 1934. The original owner of The Railway, then known as the Albert, was run by Postmaster and Publican John Griggs.
The former Albert pub on Chipping Hill opened its doors in February 2014 under its new name of The Railway. Star Pubs & Bars invested £106,000 in a complete refurbishment of the building after it was badly damaged in a fire in September 2013.
A further £24,000 was invested by new licensees Carl & Sylvia Davidson, transforming it into an outstanding traditional pub designed to meet the needs of the local community.
With 40 years experience of working in pubs between them, Carl & Sylvia had been searching for a pub they could take on as their own & after months of searching fell in love with The Railway straight away.